Wayback Wednesday: Signs of Diabetes

This post was originally posted just a few months ago, in November as we all prepared for World Diabetes Day. As I just started at a new school with new goals, and now that I have an external pump and cgms shouting to the world that I have diabetes, I thought I would repost this because the topic is on my mind.

I was thinking about the “Signs of Diabetes” – things that might trigger people to think, “I wonder if she has diabetes?” or things that when I see other people with them make me wonder if they too are PWD’s like me. I came up with this list:

* Diet Soda – I usually am carrying around one of these babies.
* Huge Purse – Loaded with food and water. Carrying around snacks, water, and various other sustenance is tasking, the abnormally large purse helps.
* gum or mints – my dental hygienist suggested that I keep gum or mints in my purse and indulge in them often in order to help with saliva production and keep my toothers healthy.
* Glasses on my face – OK, ok, TONS of non-diabetics wear glasses, but one of the first things we did after I was diagnosed was visit the eye doctor. That was when I started wearing glasses. I always associate them with D for that reason.
* sugar free cough drops – the very fact that they are sugar-free should be a hint.
* label-checking – incessantly turning food over to read the carb, fiber, protein, fat, and calorie content of the foods I’m taking in – I’m not dieting – I’m diabetic!
* my bookmarked pages – seven of them are Diabetes related
* random electronic devices – pump, monitor, and hopefully eventually a CGMS – I’m so wired. I even use the blackberry (twitter) to access the DOC and help with diabetes management.
* pricked fingers – always have those annoying dark dots on the ends of my fingers.
* bruised tummy – from messed up infusion sets or shots that hit the wrong place – bruised tummy can indicate diabetes care!
* 3 or 4 logs in my purse – I have one for blood sugar, one for food, and one for exercise – I tried combining them into one and it got confusing, so I stuck with three.
* random activity below the table before meals – I’m messing with my meter, pump, or shots!
* “No rice please.” – I always ask to leave off extra carbs I don’t need to be full, such as asking the Chinese restaurants to leave off the rice. They love telling me I’m still paying for it – I know – please still leave it off. I won’t eat it.

These were the ideas I came up with as “signs” of my internal disease. Can you come up with any others?

One thought on “Wayback Wednesday: Signs of Diabetes

  1. Cherise

    I sign for me is carb counting and diet pop. People always ask, “why are you dieting?” my response is “I’m not. I’m dlabetic.” you should see the look on peoples faces hahaha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

