Healthy Lent

I know. It’s cliche. Lent-practicing catholics and protestants giving up things for lent. You hear it every year. People do it just to do it. But I really do it for the spiritual part, honestly I do. I get something out of it every year.

The most memorable Lenten season for me happened in high school. My sophomore year I gave up make up. I know, it doesn’t seem like such a huge deal. I was sixteen, and I had somehow, in the four years since I started wearing it, had gotten to wear too much. I didn’t think much of it until I got to Easter Sunday and tried to put on make up. My old routine made me look really overdone. Since then my make up routine has been much more subtle. It was a real confidence boost for me.

That same year I attended a bible study every Friday morning on the way to school with my best friend at the time. We learned and grew together and had delicious Panera bagels (and since I was in disease denial I didn’t have many reservations about them. Oh to be young again.).

This year I’m focusing on my main goal for this entire year, decade really. My health has become my obsession. And why shouldn’t it be? I have a chronic disease that could shorten my life span. I want to be the best I can be, for myself, for those who love me, and to allow me to make the impact on the world that I would like to make.

I haven’t been serious enough since the start of this year. After I found out my A1C was lowered by 0.4 percent, I kinda blew off the restrictions I’d put on myself for eating. Plus, I’m still kinda figuring out how to balance eating vegetarian with eating low carb and high protein. It’s rather difficult, but I’m learning.

So here are my goals for Lent 2010:

-Sleep by midnight, 12:30 at the latest, every night. Preferably be in bed by 11 and asleep by 11:30.

-Get up by 6:30 on weekdays. Get in a 20-30 minute work out and read some of the bible before starting my day.

-Spend the half hour between bed and sleep in meditation and prayer. People always say that they don’t pray in bed because they fall asleep, but I can’t think of a better way to fall asleep than in communion with God.

-Continue eating vegetarian. I’ll admit I’ve slipped a couple times. Grabbed a slice of lunch meat when I was hungry, and a corn dogs when I wanted something quick. I want to say that I went all of lent without eating meat. It’s tempting because I still love the stuff, but I know I can do it.

-Avoid “junk food” and white breads and pastas.

-Avoid caffiene. I still have about 10 diet cokes in the fridge. They’ll have to go. I’ll give them to my dad. I want to fill up on water so I eat less.

-Visit my dietitian for advice on vege/diabetic life.

Realistically, I could lose six to twelve pounds this lent season. That would be fantastic. But moreso, I’d like to just have a better attitude when I leave. My physical, mental, and spiritual health have been suffering over the past, oh, about 10 months. But I’m ready to start over, ready to move on with my life. I hope that celebrating Christ’s transition period from his life on earth to his final destination will help me to understand what this transition time in my life is supposed to look like.

4 thoughts on “Healthy Lent

  1. casey

    Wow! Those are some great goals.

    I am a bit concerned though. however, you know yourself better than I do. I hope you don’t overwhelm yourself with changes you want to make. That makes it harder to succeed (at least for me).

    I love to pray while laying in bed. I agree, wonderful to fall asleep that way.

    Reply
  2. Queenie

    I can relate to your vegetarian goal. I am also a diabetic vegetarian, but have been for 5+ years. After awhile, your body just gets used to it. I try to eat enough protein but know that I rarely do. I’ve found that edamame is a great source for both protein and fiber if you like that sort of food. Luckily, I do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

