Low Carb Recipie of the Week: Green Bean Marinara

I’ve been having fun experimenting with low carb recipes since  I lost my job and have more time to cook at night. This is something I threw together last night, and because it was so tasty and low carb, I wanted to share it with you.

First of all, I have to acknowledge Karen, my fellow d-tweeter (@kahoffman) and blogger for her suggestion here to use green beans instead of pasta when making, well, pasta. She says in the aforementioned blog post that her favorite part of pasta is the sauce, so she uses green beans instead. marinara

Now I can’t say that pasta is not my favorite part of pasta. However, I can say that my least favorite part of pasta is the drawn out blood glucose spike that follows eating it.

So here is what I made tonight, in that spirit. If you like goulash or things like that, and you like green beans, you should love this recipe. I sure did!

1 can green beans, drained
1/2 cup pasta sauce (choose your favorite)

1/4 lb hamburger, cooked. (You can add more if you like, or use tofu or vegetarian sausage if you don’t eat meat).

1/2 medium sized white onion, chipped
1 clove garlic, chopped
1/2 cup (or more to your liking) grated mozzarella cheese
1/4 cup grated colby jack cheese
You can also add seasoning, salt, and pepper to your taste.

Here is the way that I do it:

Heat oven to 325.

Cook hamburger in a medium sized skillet pan. Drain. Add onions and garlic and cook to taste. Add sauce and green beans. Stir. Spread out evenly in the skillet (or transfer to another pan if you don’t have an oven-safe skillet). Spread cheese evenly on top of the mixture. Bake for 10-15 minutes. Sprinkle with Parmesan  if desired.

This particular recipe serves two, but you can easily double or triple it to serve more.

If you’re worried about calories or fat, remember to use lean meat. You can also eliminate the cheeses and just use Parmesan. As far as total carbs go, it really depends on the green beans and sauce you use. The sauce I used had 11 g of carbs in 1/2 cup.

This recipe was so tasty that I ate it all up before I could take a picture. But it looks as god as it sounds!

Leave a Reply

