Get me off this thing!

So last January, I was pretty happy with. my A1c when I left the doctor’s office. It was 7.4. The lowest it’s been in, about, forever. And I was confident that with my eating habits, exercise habits, pumpy Lola Too, and CGMS Dexter Dexcom, I was ready for that magic number: 6.9 or better.

But something has happened since then. Somehow I have lost the ability to eat low-carb. I think that part of it was dealing with losing my job and no longer having money to buy my own food. I’m depending on my parents for buying me food, and let’s face it, as I mentioned yesterday, they shop for cheap, not for health, or for a diabetic. Exercise motivation has been ringing in at a dead zero, even with the weather lately. I did actually exercise this morning, but wound up spiking my blood sugar because of it and in my frustration, stopped after ten minutes (not only in frustration but also because my CGMS was ringing in at over 240 and I am just not a fan of keytones).

So I am frustrated with the roller coaster that has ensued. I find my self over 200 almost every day. After every meal. And as soon as I get into range, it’s mealtime and I shoot up to over 200 again in minutes. What’s happened?

1. I’ve been eating nothing but white pasta and rice when it comes to carbs. I also eat wheat bread, but honestly, it spikes me just like white bread. And milk. Milk is so delicious. I love it so much! But it just does not agree with my blood sugars. And my favorite substitute, unsweetened almond milk, is really too expensive for me to ask my dad to buy for me.

2. No exercise – it just doesn’t help. Exercise actually helps my blood sugar for hours and hours after I do it (usually) and I just need that.

3. Dawn Phenomenon – I raised my morning basal another .25 because I am so frustrated that I can wake up between 100 and 130 and be 150-200 within an hour without eating. Obviously, my sky high basals are not sky high enough!

I don’t like how high my basal rates are. Maybe it has something to do with how much weight I’ve gained. I just do not want to have to start taking any oral medications. Which is kind of hypocritical of me, because I get frustrated when T2’s, like people I go to church with, get upset about having to start taking insulin because they see it as “failing” when the simple fact is that the body degenerates and most T2’s should have to take insulin after several years (so I’ve heard, sorry no citation here). Does taking Metformin mean I’ve failed as a T1?

I’m just sick of the ups and downs. I’m sick of being over 250 for half the day. I feel like crap. I had control, and now it’s slowly slipping away. I don’t want to get my A1c back this month. I’m just not looking forward to it. But it’s something I have to do, so I know where I’m at and where I need to go.

Umm, can anybody get me off this thing?

6 thoughts on “Get me off this thing!

  1. casey

    I am sorry, Sarah. D is so frustrating! The thing is…. you have the power to help yourself adjust to the “thing” you are on. I am certainly not saying that I know how or that I can do it all the time…

    You can adjust how you look at things. You can talk to your parents about how you can all eat healthier and still be budget friendly. You can exercise (you know, as long as you aren’t too high!). (always an exception with D)

    There is a lot of pressure on you, me, all PWD! We can do this. We can. The cool part of it, is you have the whole DOC cheering you on! We have all been there or will be there. For sure!

    I don’t see needing oral medications as a failure for a T1 (just like taking insulin isn’t a failure for a T2). You may be able to make changes so that you don’t need other meds, you may not. Who knows?! Do your best, that is all you can do.

    Best of luck!!

    Reply
  2. Olivejooice

    I’m sorry you are so frustrated, I defiantly have felt this kind of frustration before! Seeing numbers hang out in the 200’s is depressing at times, especially if you want that low A1C 😦 Just know that you have a lot of people in the DOC who are thinking of you and support you. You can do it!! Sometimes its just hard to get on back on track and its too easy to slip up. You’ll turn things around, don’t worry!

    Reply
  3. Bob P

    I wouldn’t presume to give advice, especially medical advice. But Metformin really does do it’s job for most folks. Not everybody has the GI symptoms, and they pass after a while for most that do have ’em.

    Reply
  4. Cherise

    Wow! I am sorry you are experiencing the HIGH get me DOWN now bg’s. I promise/hope it’ll get better. You are blessed to have awesome parents. Keep your head up! You’ll bounce back. Don’t let anything or anyone steal your joy.

    Reply
  5. Tina

    First, keep in mind that there is no gaurentee a that an oral medication will do anything. I tried tham and they had no effect. It’s the same way Symalin doesn’t work for everyone. Is your endo concerned with how much insulin you take? I thought I was taking so much and my endo informed me that I was not taking as much as he would think I would need.

    Second, take it slow. It’s not a race, it’s your life. Beating up on yourself won’t help. If there was such a thing as perfection there would be no need for tomorrows.

    Reply
  6. Scott K. Johnson

    Hang in there Sarah, you can figure it out. And adding additional tools to your arsenal doesn’t mean you’re a failure at anything.

    Stick with it, and work through small changes. A friend of mine always says “progress, not perfection”. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

