Weight Loss Week

Sunday heads up – I need to get a hold of myself this week and stop thinking that just because that black dog has been hanging around lately that I can eat whatever I want and throw both healthy eating and diabetes control to the wind. No. Get back on the bicycle, Sarah. Both the literal and figurative bicycle.

This week, I’m going to talk about my own weight loss journey and also the journey of one or two other people. I have some kind of cool things in store for you so I hope you enjoy it.

To me, it’s not about being overweight or in target weight, or whether I am beautiful at my current weight or not. I think of diabetes as one thing that might be harming my health, and I know that I need to avoid other things that could potentially harm me in the long run – I gave up social smoking and drinking a while back, for example. Getting control of my weight needs to be my next step. I don’t need another risk factor for heart disease on top of the one I cannot change.

Besides, I have all these things I want to do that I can’t right now. Like go on ultra long bike rides, or go for a run on the nice day, or, hell, walk across campus without running out of breath!

So here goes. How many times I have made this commitment to myself, I’m not sure. But I’m making it again. Because my life? That’s worth it.

2005

2006

2007

2008

2009

2010

5 thoughts on “Weight Loss Week

  1. Tina Shaye

    Sarah, you are an inspiration. I think I will try to gather pictures and maybe do the same thing (well not exactly). I think it would make me feel more accountable to my weight gain. I am around if you ever need an online weight loss buddy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

