Scar Tissue that I wish I saw…

So there has been some talk about how pump sites can go bad in the DOC recently. In fact, my buddy Michael recently went on a self-imposed pump vacation because he was discovering that most of his pump sites had been exhausted.

I have had a few problems with abdomen sites myself since I started pumping, but nothing major. I am scared to use my leg and behind (although I have) for infusion sets because I actually have a lot less fat there than I do on my abdomen. But it wasn’t until I started using Symlin again via injection that I really noticed where the majority of my scar tissue lies.

So, take a pen, or a capped syringe, or any long , thin object and pretend like you’re about to give yourself an injection in your stomach. Bend your arm to the most comfortable level (where it naturally sits when the top of your arm is pointing downward and your forearms are bent at a 90 degree angle). Pretend to give yourself the shot. Now you can see how it was easy for me, as a high school and college student not particularly worried about rotating injection sites and wanting to remain discrete in my insulin injection would use the same two spots (one on the left, one on the right of my abdomen) over and over again.

I have started making sure not only my pump is in an area free of scar tissue but also that I inject symlin away from this area so it is properly absorbed and used. However, I do find myself gravitating back to that same spot on my abdomen whenever I take an injection. So I felt along my stomach for the scar tissue. I can actually feel where it feels different under my skin. It’s about a one inch strip starting from the middle-left and working its way to the middle-right of my abdomen. Hmm.

This isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I now know which sites to avoid and before I thought that practically my whole stomach was covered in scar tissue due to injections, when that’s not the case. I actually have a lot less scar tissue and I am glad that I have more real estate to plug in now than I actually thought I did.

I have been adventerous and in the past couple weeks have used my leg once and my behind twice. I also have been sticking my Dexcom sensors on the side of my thigh. I don’t feel like I have a lot of fat in these areas, but I tell myself I do and just go for it. People skinnier than me do this all the time, right?

What do you do when it comes to avoiding scar tissue? Do you have any favorite sites?

4 thoughts on “Scar Tissue that I wish I saw…

  1. cgstrauch

    I’ve become much better at rotating sites over the past year or so. When I first one the pump it was all tummy all the time. But I also didn’t have as much fat as I do now. Now I use my legs A LOT as well as my arms. My arms are quickly becoming my favorite pump spot. I’ve been keeping my sensors in my belly for the most part because it seems to keep things the most accurate and I think they last longer there. I use my legs every once in awhile for my sensor too. Oh and I also love my love handles for sites. Hahaha.

    Reply
  2. Olivejooice

    I’ve recently added a ton (or what I think is a ton) of new sites. I made a chart with little circles showing where my sites are, and I use a dry erase marker to mark down the date (blue for infusion sites and green for sensor sites.)

    Before, I used only two spots on each side of my stomach and two to three spots on my love handles.

    Now, I have tried my arms (and I like those), thighs, upper butt, and the little curve above my hips (which I’ve only used for my sensor…but if that sucker can go in there, I’m sure an infusion set can too.)

    Reply
  3. Cherise

    I have only been pumping (podding) for almost 2 years. I only did MDI’s for a few months. I try not to use the same spots even though I wish I could because some sites are way better than others. I don’t have a lot of scar tissue but I try to use every inch of my back, stomach, legs and thighs. Rotating is the only advice I have for you.

    Reply
  4. Scott K. Johnson

    You know, I’m sure I have a bunch of scar tissue, but I’m not really sure that it’s causing me any real trouble.

    It is easy to see how we would in our “favorite spots” though – especially as you described that we often probably hit the same areas just through sheer habit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

