Lame. And a song.

So, have you heard Kelly Clarkson’s new song? It goes like this:

I’d rather walk alone
Don’t wanna chase you around
Every day every day every minute
I’d fall a thousand times
‘fore I let you drag me down
I’d rather walk alone
Don’t wanna chase you around
Every day every day every minute
I’d fall a thousand times
‘fore I let you drag me down

Every day every day … hey hey
All I ever wanted was a simple way to get over you

OK So most of the song is about a boy and you can’t really make it about diabetes but these parts really make me think of diabetes. Mostly it’s thanks to the bolded lines and my friend Cara’s Blog called “Every Day Every Hour Every Minute” Because Diabetes is 365 days a year. Every moment we are thinking about it, every moment we are dealing with it.

That line, “every day, every day, every minute,” comes through really clear in the song. It is about how she can’t stop thinking about her ex boy, but sometimes I feel like diabetes is like an evil ex boyfriend who keeps following you around and won’t leave you alone. Not that Diabetes and I were ever cool like a boyfriend and girlfriend. It’s just that when I think I am finally over it, when I have that moment of clarity when I’m NOT thinking about diabetes, my stomach growls, or my pump vibrates, or my dexcom beeps, letting me know that I STILL HAVE THIS DISEASE and it is not going away anytime soon. Maybe my past relationship was with my immune system and I did something to piss it off and so now it’s trying to make my life a living hell. Excuse the language, but sometimes DIABETES MAKES ME WANT TO CURSE. (Often times it makes me curse). And, like an annoying stalker, I want to scream JUST GET AWAY FROM ME AND LEAVE ME ALONE PLEASE! But it doesn’t listen. So I have to deal.

The reason this post is titled “Lame” is because I had a sweet vlog worked up for today. But for some reason it wouldn’t upload to WordPress. Or Youtube. Or Photobucket. Or Facebook. THAT made me want to curse.

I hope everyone has a great weekend. This lite little diddy was in preparation from the heaviness (and probably silliness) that will come with Diabetes Blog Week! My friend and fellow d-blogger Karen set it up. Basically, she gave us topics to post on every day (you can read them at her blog) and a bunch of people in the diabetes blog community will be posting on the same thing every day. You can get 60+ people’s perspective on the same thing in one day. Pretty cool, right? I’m so in.

See you next week!

Here is that Kelly song in case you want to hear it. (I love Kelly. So much. Never bought a record though. Need to remedy that once I get a job).

2 thoughts on “Lame. And a song.

  1. Michael Hoskins

    Don’t know the song, but I’m right there with you in connecting it to the D. Nicely played. Looking forward to the craziness ahead in D-Blog Week – it’ll be awesome anarchy, I’m sure. Looking forward to seeing your perspective, among all the others.

    Reply
  2. Karen

    Thanks for the Diabetes Blog Week shout out!!! Don’t worry – I plan to try and work a bunch of the silly into my posts next week. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

