Diabetes Blog Week Day 1: A Day in the Life

I’m cheating. I’m frantically writing this at 1am so I can post it before I finish studying and try to get some quality hours in before my dreaded chemistry test at 8:30 tomorrow morning.

So I’m posting something I wrote waaay back in August, when I was a new diabetes blogger and didn’t have any idea what the heck I was doing (what am I thinking, I still have no idea what the heck I am doing, but do any of us?)

The post was called Day to Night. I mostly used it to illustrate to myself the point that I needed a pump and a CGMS! Three months later, I had them both at my disposal.

“So, for the past few months I have been “trying” to get my diabetes under control. Let’s face it, I was just tired of feeling so sick all of the time!

Lately this is how the conversation between my brain and blood sugar has gone:

9AM

Body: Holy crap, I gotta pee. I have a headache and my muscles are all stiff. I must be high. What did I eat last night? *checks log* nothing after 7? and my bedtime number was 114? this is weird…

BG: yeah, well. i enjoy hanging out up here in the mornings, it’s been a new past time of mine.

Body: Well quite frankly I don’t appreciate it. It makes it harder to get up in the morning and leaves me feeling groggy. Please stop!

11am

Body: Why am I still high? I took six units of insulin!

BG: I am immune to your insulin powers! I am having a blast on the top of this farris wheel. please just leave me alone! I enjoy tormenting your kidneys and sending you to the bathroom every ten minutes!

Body: Blargh

1pm

Body: Hey, BG, you’re finally deciding to cooperate even though I ate far more carbs than I should have at lunch. Why the change of heart?

BG: oh I don’t know, I was beginning to be afraid of heights. I decided to hang out down here for a while.

Body: well, ok, just please don’t fall too far. I’d like to be functional this afternoon.

3pm

Body: I’m awful hungry. I think I’ll have some applesauce or a granola bar.

BG: Probably a good idea, i’m feeling a little short of glucose. ¡Damelo!

5pm
Body: can’t breathe, can’t think, can’t move.

BG: neither can i, what happened to that sugar you ate?

From there, it’s a crap shoot. I’m either great for the rest of the evening and go to bed at 100, or I’m high til about 2 hours after dinner and then I once again go to bed at 100 (Usually, a work out happens after dinner). I think a work out might fix the morning highs if I got up and got one in early, BUT, that doesn’t fix them happening in the middle of the night.

My routine is completely different these days than it was back then, but I still am getting the same results: stubborn morning numbers followed by evening crashes. Having the CGMS and pump have worked wonders, though! I don’t “stack” insulin like I did on shots because I know exactly how much is theoretically in my system thanks to Miss Pingy. But the above conversation is one I still have quite frequently between my body and my blood sugar.

I am so excited to be kicking off blog week, but not so excited to be kicking off finals week with an 8:30 am test. Wish me luck! My quality of posts should increase at the end of the week. Because I will be officially done with my first semester on my journey to become a CDE on Wednesday!

8 thoughts on “Diabetes Blog Week Day 1: A Day in the Life

  1. Paige

    Cheating on the first week of Diabetes Blog Week?!?!?!?! J/K. Hope your test went well. I’m sure you did great! Miss you BFF, I will see you THIS WEEKEND!

    Reply
  2. Crystal

    Good luck with finals!! You will do GArate! 🙂

    I’ve had those conversations before. Why is often interjected and always ignored. :-/

    Reply
  3. Lorraine

    Cheating is ok – it fits the day’s theme perfectly. Looking forward to the rest of the week (just don’t cheat on your chemistry test!) 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

