Dump Day

If you’re anything like me, you keep used test strips, re-capped used lancets, alcohol swab trash, and other random diabetes waste in your meter case, both in the pocket and around the actual meter itself. Every time you use your meter, some of these rogue test strips get dropped on the floor and whatever other surface you may or may not be around. People comment, “You dropped a strip.” “No, I didn’t, that one is used.” Well, I did drop it, but it’s not necessary that I immediately pick it up, because it’s already been used and can therefore wait until I am finished preforming my current blood sugar test before it is picked up from the ground. In the even that I did drop an unused strip, I would pause my test and pick it up immediately  because I would want to save that expensive little piece of technology from demise in the event that it should meet liquid or become lost.

But every once in a while, when the pocket is full and the strips are leaving a trail behind you when you carry your meter around, it’s time to dump.

Today, I received a new meter from my doctor’s office (long story, to be continued tomorrow). I decided to start dumping into the box it came in so I would have a place to dump in my room and not have to make the journey to the trash can or figure out where to hide the sharps. I can figure out what to do with the conglomerative diabetes waste when the box is full. For now, it looks like this:

So now that I have Silverton the BG meter’s bedroom cleared out, I guess it’s time to work on mine.

One thought on “Dump Day

Leave a Reply

