One Year Ago

One year ago, I was working at George Washington Carver National Monument.

One year ago, I still thought I was going to go to graduate school for History.

One year ago, I was out of control of my diabetes and a lot of areas of my life.

One year ago, I was struggling with depression.

One year ago, I thought that science classes were dreadful.

One year ago, I had no idea what a continuous glucose monitor was.

One year ago, I thought I would never use an insulin pump.

About one year ago, while working a front desk shift at the park on a rainy day, I was bored and looking for things to do online that weren’t blocked by the Department of the Interior filters (including Facebook and Twitter). That’s when I discovered Google Reader and added a bunch of bundles, including one called “diabetes.” In that bundle, among other things, were the Diabetes Daily blogs as well SixUntilMe.com. I then realized that wordpress, blogger, and squarespace were not blocked by the DOI and I could read blogs all day when I was working at the front desk. I began my quest for discovering diabetes blogs and adding them to my reader. A few weeks later, I felt confidant to start my own diabetes blog, then the PWD PK over on blogger.

When I started reading d-blogs, everyone who attended the Roche social media summit last year was just returning. I had to figure out what it was because I had no idea. I never in a million years thought that I would be a part of it the next time it happened one year ago.

One year later, here I am.

I am attending the Roche Social Media Summit this year.

I am using an insulin pump and a continuous glucose monitor.

I am taking science classes and LOVING THEM.

I have brought my A1C down almost a full percent.

I am successfully treating and managing my depression.

I am going to school for Dietetics.

And I am not working anywhere…but that’s okay, for now.

7 thoughts on “One Year Ago

  1. Tina Shaye

    What a difference a year makes! It’s wonderful how much you have accomplished in such a short amount of time. All the changes sound like they are for the better. Enjoy Roche and enjoy your new life šŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. FatCatAnna \\^^//

    Sarah,
    What a great attitude after one year of having the D. Carry on my friend with that attitude – and years from now – you will still be smiling. This is how I’ve always faced living life with diabetes – and it’s paid off in so many ways over the past 43 years since I was diagnosed!

    Hmmm, I’ll have to do a search engine into this Roche Social Media Summit – and find out what it’s all about – maybe it’s something that would be my cup a tea? I’m new to the DOC (diabetic online community) thing, so I’m learning all the time from others like you šŸ™‚ Who says you can’t teach an old dog new tricks!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: 1 year of Blogging. « Sarahndipity

Leave a Reply

