You can never get off the Roller Coaster

I talk a lot about the roller coaster that living with diabetes can seem to be. Yesterday was no exception. I woke up and my blood sugar was 229. I wasn’t surprised, I’ve been having a lot of fasting blood sugars over 200 lately. My wacked up sleep schedule probably contributes to it. I corrected, made my coffee and ate my oatmeal and headed off to my 7:30 am summer school class.

As soon as I got about halfway to school I felt off. Stopped at a stoplight I expertly tested my blood sugar before the light changed. The meter said 70. 70, down from 229 an hour before? I scarfed down the cereal I had in my purse in case of lows on my way to school.

Walking into the building I still felt off. I figured I just needed to wait for the sugar to work; I had been 229 when I woke up so maybe I still felt shaky at 90. I got inside about ten minutes before the test started and tested.

54.

My first thought was, no way. No way am I 54! So I tested again.

49.

I was sitting in the back of the room, going “oh, my gosh, oh my gosh!” under my breath, trying to decide what to do. I had already exhausted my low blood sugar supplies. Finally, I got up the courage to just ask the students who were already in the room.

“Uh, guys, I hate to do this, but does anybody have any sugar or any change for the vending machines? My blood sugar is like, really low, and I already ate all the stuff I brought with me.”

Luckily, two classmates jumped for their wallets and each offered me a dollar. I felt so grateful and relieved. They made sure I would be okay, (“Want someone to go with you?” “No, just come check on me if I’m not back in five minutes.”) and got the usual comments, (“Are you hypoglycemic?” “No, I have type 1 diabetes.”) and I ran downstairs and grabbed some skittles from the vending machines.

Of course, I ate too many skittles, so I did a quick bolus before I started my test and mid-test check showed me at 140. I was still 140 when my test was over. But when I got home, I was talking to my dad and I started talking quickly, so he asked me what my blood sugar was. “About 140.” I told him, but when we finished talking I was wondering the same thing myself, so I tested and I found out I was 75.

“75?!?!” I said. “That’s OK!” Dad said. “But I was 140 thirty minutes ago. That means I’m probably still dropping.” So I gulped down four more skittles and went on my way.

Needless to say, somehow, unknown to me, without eating any other food, my blood sugar climbed to over 300 on my drive to Des Moines yesterday.

Roller Coaster. Quite frankly I’m getting sick of it. What’s the answer?
How about a cure?

3 thoughts on “You can never get off the Roller Coaster

  1. brigdon

    Oh no! That’s no fun…especially when they get THAT low! It happens to me quite frequently with no explanation (usually when I’m pulling weeds outside- really) and I get just as frustrated as you….although I don’t have any answers for you…..will let you know when I do 🙂

    Reply
  2. Alyssa

    Ugh! I hate that. I kept going low for like 6 hours from 8 pm – 2 am one night. I just couldnt get it up. I didnt want to over eat and wake up in the morning with a super high number.

    The roller coaster sucks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

