Roche and BIG THINGS and What the Heck am I doing here?

To be quite honest, I still can’t believe that I’m here and that all this happened in a year and that these people I talk to on a daily basis are not just made up tweeters in my head. Seriously guys. You’re real? Wait, WHAT?

And, what the heck? How do I manage to keep such great online company? I wish so desperately that every single diabetes blogger could have been under this roof with us. Several of you were dearly missed (like my Kansas City family who was still fresh on my brain because I had dinner with them on Sunday Night!).

And, what the heck? A few months ago, my goals were just ideas in my head that I never really thought I would act on. Then, in May, I posted on what some of those goals were. And now I’ve really met tons of people who could help me make it happen, and what’s worse, they know what my goals are and they’re going to be there pushing me to achieve them.

My head is spinning. If you can’t tell, I’m writing this at 3 eastern time with plans to meet Manny Hernandez, founder of TuDiabetes and EsTuDiabetes and president of the Diabetes Hands Foundation for breakfast. I’m writing this in a desperate attempt to debreif myself so I can sleep. Ever had that feeling?

All I know is that being here with these people makes me want to stay a while. It makes me want to found the first all diabetic city and give everyone a job there so we could just interact like this all the time, and on a “normal” level as well. Most of us would probably kill each other in this hypothetical situation so I won’t go out on any limbs, but hey, I can dream, can’t I?

Thanks so much to Amy Tenderich for suggesting Roche invited me. This early morning blog is a LOT one of those “It’s my blog and I’ll post if I want to!” blogs where I know I need to write something different but I have to write this for my own benefit. I will post something more substantial, probably not until Thursday though because I need to figure out how to pass my genetics test tomorrow morning.

Oh, here’s the picture. See anyone you know? I’ll post the roll call tomorrow.

7 thoughts on “Roche and BIG THINGS and What the Heck am I doing here?

  1. Michael Hoskins

    It was SO GREAT meeting you, Sarah Jane! I can’t believe it even happened, and now that it’s over. Crazy amazing craziness of a mess in the mind… and to express it. Oh boy. Thank you for being so awesome, in person and online and in everything you do. Please please keep in touch and let Cherise and I know if and when you do get into the Indiana area, and we’ll make a meetup happen.

    Reply
  2. Cherise

    Sarah- It was great hanging out with you! You are an amazing young woman with a lot of awesome things going for you. IF you need anything, EVER let me know.

    Reply
  3. Mike

    Hey Sarah Jane

    Looks like you guys had a great time. Would be nice to see if Roche did a similar event over in Europe. Although having recently returned from a similar event hosted by Medtronic, I can’t sound too jealous! šŸ™‚

    I admit that I felt proud to been have invited to our recent event like you mentioned, it was extremely inspiring!

    Long may it continue eh! DOC rocks again! šŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. talesofmy30s

    Fabulous meeting you šŸ™‚

    Not so fabulous, watching those people make out in the hotel bar. Oh yeah, I totally blogged that (at the personal blog).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

