New Goals

A few weeks ago, I set out to lose 15 lbs by August 15. You’re probably wondering why I stopped posting over at Sarah Loses It, and why I just abruptly gave up on my goal. Fact is, I don’t know. I guess I just wasn’t ready to make the decision to actually lose the weight. I am happy to report that I have lost about 5 lbs. Theoretically, I could still lose 5 more before the 15th of August, putting me at a satisfying 10 lbs lost. But the reason I’m writing today is because I want to stop just focusing on my weight and focus on making other healthier decision that might make it easier for me to lose weight.

Drink more water. This has been something I have wanted to do for a long time. While being jobless has helped me break the diet coke habit far quicker than I would have had I still had an income at my disposal, I am still not drinking enough water. That elusive 64 oz a day doesn’t seem like so much until it’s an hour until bedtime and you’re still down 40 oz. I mean, I don’t get why it’s so hard. There were periods of my life when I downed 64+ oz of diet coke. Why can’t I do the same with water? Granted, water doesn’t have the addicting caffeine, refreshing fizziness or delicious cola flavor that Diet Coke boasts, but still, if I can down 64 ounces of DC in a day then why not H20?

Posture and Balance. I’ve had my share of foot troubles and I am sure they stem from my posture issues. Being overweight and chesty has caused my posture more damage than I care to share. I am a sloucher supreme. And when I slouch, my weight shifts to my heels. I have intense heel pain when I stand for more than an hour or so, which combined with high arches made many days working in retail almost unbearable. I’d like to shift my weight distribution to a more normal place and straighten out my posture. I’m hoping to do this by being more conscious of where my weight is placed on my feet, wearing sturdier shoes (eek, but I love my flip flops!) and doing more yoga and pilates. I took a pilates class my second year of college (eek, like four years ago) and gotta love that wii fit yoga. I want to get DVDs for both of these activites and possibly enroll in classes at my local school or gym.

Nutrition…No really…Nutrition. How many times do I have to talk about this? STOP EATING JUNK, SARAH JANE. I’m tired of seeing the waves on the Dexcom. I need more protein, less complex carbohydrates, and less junk food. More raw, less processed. I’m still hungry all the time, but if I choose healthier options for food when I’m hungry it will make a world of difference. Oh and stop telling myself, “I can have this candy bar today because I’ll start tomorrow.” Just plain unacceptable.

Do something outside in the morning. This will get me out of bed and moving, not to mention getting a good outside work out in before it’s blazing hot will keep me from using the heat as an excuse. Walk the dogs, ride my bike, mow the yard, whatever I feel like, just do something, even if it is sprinting up and down the driveway.

Oh and…Stay positive. I’m tired of telling myself I can’t do it. I can do it. I’m tired of worrying about dying before I’m 60 or 50 or 40. Diabetes is not a death sentence, neither is having a BMI that is considered obese. Maybe I can’t change diabetes, but changing the way my body feels and acts sure will help extend my life.

One more thing…Remember that sleep is good. Oh, breaking the college habit. But school starts again soon and I have 8am classes again so maybe that will kick start me.

And by the way…

Next week is a big week here on Sarahndipity. I have two surprises, I have one announcement, and other than that, you’ll just have to tune in and see what’s happening.

Brutus says "Hello!" and also, "Please take me for a walk, Sarah Jane!"

4 thoughts on “New Goals

  1. Stacey D.

    Sarah these are all things that we should all work on, if we don’t already do them. I’m not sure why these things are so hard to keep up with but you’re not alone. I’m finally doing more exercise but I just hope I can continue with it. And I’ve thought about staying low carb to watch for improved postprandial bg’s but what did I have for breakfast? A blueberry muffin! Little steps is what we should focus on. Those little steps will make all the difference. And congrats on the 5 lb loss!

    Reply
  2. Babscampbell

    I’m excited for the big surprise next week!

    I’m very proud of you btw. . you’ve got the right mindset and the plan to get healthy. You’ll find it’s easier to stay on track if your goal is to be healthy rather than to lose a certain number of pounds.

    You GO girl! I know you can do it! You’ve got so many of us cheering you on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

