I’m a convert.

I’ve always been a picky eater.

Growing up, my parents learned creative ways to deal with my pickiness. They didn’t implement the “eat what we put in front of you or don’t eat anything at all” rule, but rather the “eat what we put in front of you or eat a peanut butter and jelly sandwich” rule. And of course, I loved (and love) peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. Today I tend to chose cold meat and cheese over pb and j, but then I could eat a pb and j every night of the week if that was what it came to.

My pickiness has usually been a matter of texture, like when I threw up mashed potatoes all over my mother when I was a toddler. But one thing that is definitely a taste issue is my loathing of yogurt. The yogurt “kick” that most people love has seriously turned me off from the healthy stuff, and I have only recently attempted to force myself to eat it. Last fall, when I was commuting 70 miles to go to school and packing my lunch most every day, I would put plain yogurt, splenda, and frozen fruit in a plastic container and eat it for lunch. Somehow the frozen fruit managed to cover up the yogurt taste I loathed. But when my boyfriend tried to introduce me to Greek yogurt, even though I knew the health benefits I couldn’t get over how disgusting it looked.

This week, I discovered that Greek yogurt is just regular yogurt in a more concentrated form. And I somehow decided to taste honey and vanilla yogurt that David was eating one day. And I actually kind of liked it. But still scared, I didn’t break open a cup of my own until this afternoon. I opened that cup and I tossed in some of my favorite granola (gluten free vanilla flavor by Udi’s) and I ate that sucker.

And it was good. I couldn’t even taste the yogurt kick I hate so much.

Yum.

I hear your taste buds change every seven years. Maybe I’ve liked yogurt since I was 21, and I just didn’t know it yet.

This post was brought to you by D-Feast Friday.

8 thoughts on “I’m a convert.

  1. FatCatAnna \\^^//

    I grew up on 2% yoghurt (and skim milk too – the dieticians at the hospital said that was best for me as a diabetic child – gag me with a spoon) – and like you – I didn’t like that “vinegar” taste. I’ve seen become “an adult now” – and discovered the joys of Greek yoghurt – but not the low fat stuff – but 6-8% fat content. Therefore, I only have 1/2 a cup, and I also buy one that is gelatin free!! If you look at many of the yoghurts out on the market, many have fillers to make them seem thicker, etc. etc. and that brings up calories/etc.

    Can you get Astro yoghurt in the USA Sarah? That is the most natural yoghurt around that I buy here in Canada. I think it has about 4-5 ingredients, nothing else but “au natural”.

    Oh – and like Amy says – to go to Greece and have their yoghurt – PRICELESS (shaking my piggy bank – nope – not enough yet). Here in Montreal, we have a large Greek population, and I shop where they do, so can get the “real” Greek yoghurt – so thick – and like a dessert!

    Now you’ve got me craving some yoghurt, with a handful of blueberries (they are in season right now) and abit of muesili on top. Thanks for reminding me that I should eat something now!!

    Reply
  2. Jacquie

    I feel like Greek yogurt is such a controversial subject right now! My work neighbor and I were trying to get into it for quite a while, but then decided it’d be better to just eat the stuff we liked.

    THEN, my husband started eating another brand, and he loves it.

    So yeah, I don’t know. I’ll check back in 7 years. šŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. kayritzdorf

    Greek yogurt is up towards the top of my Hate List. I literally had to stop myself from throwing up in the kitchen sink when I tried it. Never again.

    And I’ve never heard the thing about your taste buds changing every seven years. That’s interesting. I’ve hated cheese practically since birth and still despise it.

    Reply
  4. snackrifices

    I hate yogurt! lol unless it’s used as a base in a curry sauce or something. As a snack, by itself or with additives, yogurt makes me gag. It has since I was just a wee little kid. I even try it now and then, and I can’t do it.

    The only yogurt thing I do like is to take the yoplait whips, put them in the freezer, and then put it in a glass and pour ginger ale over. That’s like a BG friendly smoothie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

