Announcement, Announcement, Announcement!

Happy August! It’s not the first time in my life that I’ve been excited for school to start, but I’m EXCITED FOR SCHOOL TO START! Just 21 days until I have at least a partial life. Woo Hoo!

This week is an exciting one!

I thought I would kick off this exciting week with my super announcement.

In case you aren’t aware, I have been working on a little project. It’s what I like to call a Micro Social Network. It’s basically to connect people with diabetes in Southwest Missouri (where I live, area code 417) to diabetes resources in the area as well as to each other, local DOC style. It’s a combination inspired by Act1 Diabetes and Tudiabetes. I am hoping that it takes off and really helps people in my area not only control their diabetes but get support when they need it.

I have configured two different websites using two different platforms. At this point, I am not able to purchase a domain name or pay for hosting, so I am using the free versions of the following sites to host 417diabetes in its beta testing phase: grouply.com and grou.ps. For now, I am just testing out the waters and seeing which of these two sites better suits my needs, or if I need to continue looking for other places to host the site.

So what do I need from you? Right now, I have about 8 willing beta testers. I am ready to roll out the startup email to these super awesome volunteers. Ideally, I would prefer to have about 20 to 30 beta testers, so I am sending out a plea.

What would beta testers do?

I’d like for you to browse the sites, post a profile about yourself, post in the forums, write a blog, post some pictures (even if they’re just the windows sample pictures), or upload some video – just generally get a feel for how the sites work and whether or not they would be easy for members to use. Also, do they provide the tools for the purpose? Are the groups easy to use? Are the forums easy to post in? I’d ask that you spend about 10 minutes a day for about five days (or even just 50 minutes at once) browsing the sites. Then, provide some feedback. After about two weeks, I’ll send out a survey, but even better than that, I have set up to use the forums on the actual sites themselves for you all to provide feedback and suggestions.

Do I have to live in Southwest Missouri or have diabetes to be a beta tester?

You don’t have to live here or have diabetes to help out, all you have to do is be willing to volunteer your time.

Will I receive anything for volunteering?

At this point, you’ll receive my eternal gratitude and probably a thank-you card. I simply am not able to provide any other compensation. But I will be thankful! I need you guys!

Is there anything else I can do?

Yes. If you would like to provide me with any other suggestions on this project (more info coming later this week that really defines the project – I’m also working on a mission statement), please do so at any time via comment, email, facebook, twitter, written letter, owl delivery, hand delivery, phone call, video message, hieroglyphics, Morse code, secret code, lighted message like in Batman, or any other form of communication. I also have a facebook group you can join. If you live in the area and would like to be on what I’m loosely calling the “volunteer board,” please let me know and I will be happy to have your collaboration. I need help with marketing big time.

THANKS IN ADVANCE.

I’m also posting this on 417diabetes.wordpress.com, the official 417diabetes blog.

3 thoughts on “Announcement, Announcement, Announcement!

  1. Kim Dilley

    Hey, Sarah!

    I would be willing to beta test your website. Let me know what I need to do. πŸ™‚

    — Kim

    Reply
  2. Olivejooice

    I’ll be happy to help you Sarah πŸ™‚

    I purchased a domain name a little while back hoping to start something similar to this…but until I have more time I’m just sitting on it. I think it is super fantastic what you are doing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

