Visiting the Vampires.

This morning at 8am I start the every 3 months routine that is getting ready for an endo appointment. It’s time for another visit to the Vampires, as I like to call them. They want to suck my blood.

Honestly, the biggest thing that I have discovered in diabetes care is that you shouldn’t have to worry about being “good” for an endocrinologist appointment. When I was younger, I used to be scared of being reprimanded by both my parents and my doctor at my appointments. Even in college, an endo appointment 1 month away was time to try “harder” to control my diabetes – less snacks, more exercise, etc. But I have learned that being honest with the doctor and taking care of myself daily is a much better way to live.

As far as A1C goes, I don’t expect a lot this time. In fact, I won’t be surprised if it’s a little higher than it was last time. According to Dexcom, my continuous glucose monitor, my average is holding steady around 150 and I should still be somewhere between 7 and 7.5, but you just never can guess at these things.

But really, when you think about it, A1c isn’t the greatest measure of control. It’s an average, plain and simple. I could be spending 50 percent of my time at 200 and 50 percent at 100. Quite frankly that’s probably the case. But what damage are those 50 percent of the time 200’s doing to my body? That’s the question.

I’m anxious to review my use of symlin with my doctor, especially after there’s been such a buzz about it in the DOC lately. Symlin is another synthetic hormone that’s used to keep your blood sugar from spiking after a meal. I’ll have more on Symlin on Friday. But really other than that I don’t have much to tell her, besides, “dood I cannot get down below 15o. HALP!”

Honestly I don’t even know if I’ll see her. She recently changed her schedule (taking more time with her family I suppose) and it’s now harder to schedule and appointment. She asked me to schedule six months out. Well, because she changed her schedule, I couldn’t even get in to  see her at the 3 month marker. Four months was this  month and I’m scheduled to meet with her PA. I like her physician’s assistant, don’t get me wrong, but I’d like to see my doctor as well.

So today’s visit to the vampires starts my long week of logging, printing, analyzing, and coming up with questions for either Dr. M or PA Hill. We will surely see what transpires a week from now. For today, I’ll just have fun hanging with my vampire friends. Hopefully I don’t have to pee in a cup this time.

One thought on “Visiting the Vampires.

  1. Michael Hoskins

    Oh, blood suckers – and not the Edward Cullen style! That was one of my favorite guest-blogs, when I had the Type 1 who’s a vampire write about her world. Such fun, and you’ve got a great one here. Hope the routine starts off well for you, that you get to see your Endo for all the Symlin and leveling out talks, and so on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

