Low Blood Sugar Really Takes it Out of You

Recently, as I mentioned late yesterday, I have been dealing with very. high. blood sugar. And quite frankly, I’m not impressed. But last night, I was dealing with the opposite effect.

Just before I went to sleep, as I posted last night, I was 261. I’ve been losing sleep over highs for a few days, so instead of waiting up to make sure it came down, I corrected and went to bed. Since lately insulin isn’t having such a great effect on my blood sugars, I did something I commonly do (and should NOT EVER DO), I increased the correction from 9.40 units to 10.00 units. Call it a rage bouls, call it me not thinking, I actually thoguht that this would be no big deal since it seemed like it was never a big deal recently, I went to sleep around 11 pm.

Fast forward to 2:45 am. Something jolts me awake. Keep in mind, I set Dexcom to “rest” overnight and am turning it on this morning, so luckily for my high blood sugars I felt the low. I was not any lower than 65 mg/dl (according to my meter), but since I’d spent a lot of time recently soaring somewhere over 200, my body was hit hard by that 65. I was sweating, my heart was racing, I felt dizzy, and all I wanted was food.

My roommate, who did not have to work today, had not come to the bedroom yet, so I switched on the light and fumbled for my purse. I knew I had a pack of giant smartees in there. (Those things are awesome, they work just like glucose tabs, and are much more tasty and much less expensive!) I couldn’t find it. I fumbled around like a madwoman. Eventually I found it in the zip pocket. Then, I couldn’t get it open. The price sticker was holding it closed. Finally I pulled out about 6 or 7 of those babies (I probably only needed 5).

But I did not stop there. I got out of my bed and went into the kitchen. My mission was a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. But my mission got sidetracked with some hershey’s peppermint kisses (the best hershey’s kisses!) that were living next to the microwave. After downing a few of those babies, I grabbed the pb&j fixings and whipped me up a Skippy natural peanut butter with honey and straberry preserves sandwich on one slice of wheat bread. Let me tell you, that sandwich tasted heavenly. But by this time my food expidition had gotten me enough in my right mind to understand I had just consumed about 50 grams of carbohydrates more than I needed to consume.

When I got back to my bed, I was smart enough to dial up a 50 gram bolus on my pump before I went back to sleep. When I woke up, my blood sugar was an acceptable 147. But today, I am just plain exausted. And I have learned my lesson: rage boulsing, even a little bit, has negative consiquences.

One thought on “Low Blood Sugar Really Takes it Out of You

  1. Stacey D.

    I’ve been fighting abnormal highs myself this past week (until today of course just to throw a curve ball). And as much as we know rage bolusing should be steered clear of, I can see why we can’t help it. I increased my basal by 50% yesterday and did not see a budge in my bg. It’s like our body laughs at us when we do that! It’s hard to be patient waiting for our body to decide it wants to use the insulin we’re feeding it. I hope your roller coaster is over.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

