Day 2 – Writing.

So I missed yesterday by 4 minutes (at least, that’s what time I’m starting this post- 00:04). I think that that is acceptable. I mean, it’s still the second in California, Alaska, and Hawaii right? And Washington, Oregon, British Columbia, and the Yukon? I know, right? It counts.

I have a valid excuse. I was working on my last class before I can get my actual diploma. I know, taking five and a half years is a little insane, but hey! It’s not unheard of! And besides, it really wasn’t my fault. It was the stupid registrar’s fault, because they wouldn’t transfer my credit. Well I say a pox on them, because I just finished the last class I needed for my diploma, and it wasn’t even through my alma mater! Take THAT, Missouri Southern State University!

But really, why are we here? Oh yes. We’re talking Reverb10. December awesomeness. (Did I mention I’m sleep deprived and having visions of history plum fairies dancing in my head? And that their names are Constantine, Muhammad, Jesus, Siddhartha, and Confucius?) Here is today’s prompt from the Reverb Writing Team:

December 2 – Writing.
What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?

Like Allison (Not Amber!) mentioned today, at first my thoughts about this prompt were this: What, you mean like spend time on Facebook or take a walk outside? That’s ridiculous! I don’t spend all my time working on my writing! I mean, I love writing, and I would love to do something with it professionally one day. Heck, I’ve wanted to be an author since I started reading Baby Sitter’s Little Sister when I was seven. So maybe, if I’m serious about this writing thing (and obviously I am somewhat serious, I have a blog, right?) I should be thinking about ways to improve constantly.

But really, that isn’t the case. I’ve never been a one track mind. I have ADD to thank for that. But when I actually thought about it, I do a lot of things that do (or should) contribute to myself as a writer (or as I like to think of myself, as a word artist. Although if my blog posts were paintings they’d be a bit like those contemporary paintings where you just fling paint at the wall and call it “art.”). For example, I read. I read a lot, actually. I read a lot of blog posts and I read a lot of books, and I try to take note of each person’s writing style and figure out what I can learn from them. But this post isn’t about what I do right, it’s about what I do wrong.

I don’t really care, on my blog, how cohesive my writing is. I don’t really care how many people read it because I know that some do and I know it has helped some people manage their diabetes. I also don’t care how many comments I get (although I like when I do get comments, but I am NOT one of those people who says, omg! I DIDN’T GET ANY COMMENTS TODAY! I think I might die/quit writing/ jump off a cliff!). What I care about is that I’ve gotten the jumbled mess in my head down on paper (or on computer?) and it’s out there and if it helps someone, great, but if not, it helps me to say it and that’s what’s really important.

On that same line, I keep a journal, but not as consistently as I’d like. When I came to Utah, I was determined to write something down EVERY DAY because I thought I’d be having this great experience out here. Turns out it’s a lot like Missouri, except there are mountains and beautiful sunsets and I am actually working, but other than that I have not had as many “Ah-HA” moments as I would have liked. But really, I don’t write down even as much as crosses my mind. That’s my main issue with myself and my writing: I think big thoughts and then I don’t act on them. I don’t write them down, I don’t catalog them, I don’t develop them into blog posts or short stories or poems or whatever they shape themselves up to be inside my head.

So my newest goal for 2011 is this: Write it down. What good are thoughts if they stay inside your head? How many new and interesting concepts, things, and ideas might we have come up with as a society if we all just wrote down what we were thinking, what we were dreaming, what we were planning?

Really, the tangible is fleeting, in my own personal view. We have a few items from great people of the past, but what really lingers, what we can really document though words and thoughts are their ideas. Ideas are the stuff of life, ideas make us who we are. It was my idea to go to college, my idea to major in history, and my idea to start a diabetes blog.

So there we have it. Write it down. Which I did today, in epic proportions.

And I thought I wouldn’t have anything to say about 2010.

3 thoughts on “Day 2 – Writing.

  1. Courtney

    This line is my favorite “I think big thoughts and then I don’t act on them.” I just wrote this on my blog in my post for my word for 2011: “I think far too much and don’t ‘do’ nearly enough. I want to take action.”

    Same thought, different word, hehe 🙂

    Reply
  2. Allison Blass

    I am this way with creative writing, not so much my blog. I’ll have long, drawn-out ideas on stories, but I never sit down and actually write anything out. I need to work on that too!

    -NotAmber

    Reply

Leave a Reply

