Spr…ummer?

The weather. Topic of much conversation. Weather is easy to talk about because it’s something everyone has in common. Maybe that’s the reason why it comes up when we are sparking conversation or don’t have much to say. I don’t see weather conversation as just filler, though. I actually like talking about it. I love learning what the weather is like in other parts of the country and even all over the world. I love talking to people in the Southern hemisphere. It boggles my mind that their weather is opposite of mine!

Anyone who has ever lived in the part of the country I do for any amount of time knows what our weather is like – completely unpredictable. Northern Arkansas, Southern Missouri, Southeastern Kansas, and Northeastern Oklahoma experience mild winters and hot, humid summers. We also have those wonderful things we like to call Severe Thunderstorms complete with tornado warnings. Have you ever experienced a tornado warning with someone who has never been in a storm that could produce tornadoes? Maybe you were that person. It’s kind of entertaining, as a midwesterner, to watch the non-midwest folks freak out about tornadoes. People from California like to stand in doorways. Not an earthquake, friends. Here, we duck and cover. (Although I am not sure I wouldn’t duck and cover if I ever experienced an earthquake – I hope I have a Californian handy to pull me to the doorway when I start to go down!).

I noticed that today it felt particularly summery. Then I remembered. Here, in Southwest Missouri, we don’t have a Spring.

Oh okay. I’m exaggerating. We do have a spring. It lasts for about one week and happens towards the end of March or the beginning of April. This year, it was last week. We had about three nice days before some rain, followed by humid, over-80 days (and when you’re used to 60, 80 degrees with 90 percent humidity feels like 90). I am a sweater. That high is not comfortable for me.

I was reminded how taking care of diabetes is kind of like taking care of Midwest weather. While I have significantly more control over my diabetes than I do the weather, I often feel like I can predict my blood sugars about as well as I can predict the weather. One day, It’s sunny and 130 all day long, the next day, it starts out a blistery 250 and ends at a frigid 45 after several strong storms. And those perfect, spring days where it remains between 90 and 120 all day long without much wind or rain only happen once in a blue moon, like, say, every hundred and eighty days just like in Missouri?

The good thing is, with time and patience and hard work I can save up enough money to move to Southern California. No, really, I do like having seasons, even if Southern Missouri only has two. Blood sugar seasons, not so much. I can, with patience, diligence, and strong will, change my lifestyle habits to be optimal for keeping my blood sugars in that 90-120 range most of the time and avoid the tornadoes, earthquakes, and hurricanes that can come in the form of long term complications and potential shortening of life.  But those aren’t the things I want to focus on. I want to focus on making every day the best day it can be. I want to do everything I can to feel my best so I can do all the things that I want to do with my life.

And I want to be happy and feel great while doing it.

3 thoughts on “Spr…ummer?

  1. Cara

    I’m one of those crazy people who freaks out w/ the tornado warnings. But I saw my grandmother’s house completely destroyed by a tornado in southwest MO when I was 6. It stuck w/ me. 😛

    Reply
  2. SARAH

    I know what you mean about the “1 week of spring”. We get that too.
    Of course, I wouldn’t know WHAT to do if a tornado or earthquake came. We fear the hurricanes around here. So, if I were to ever visit, and there would come a storm threatening tornados, please don’t laugh. I will freak. I will probably cling to you like white on rice and not let go. I’m a pansy, I tell ya.

    Reply
  3. Scott K. Johnson

    Great analogy about the weather and blood sugars. I often experience that too. For a few days I was having super-wonderful BG’s. Then? It all goes to heck for a few days. Sometimes there is just no rhyme or reason to it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

